Jackson hailed on social media after guiding Saurashtra to victory in VHT 2022 final

Saurashtra beat Maharashtra by five wickets to win the 2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy in Ahmedabad on Friday with experienced campaigner Sheldon Jackson playing a primary role in the victory .

Jackson was named the Player of the Match thanks to his unbeaten 133 off 136 deliveries, while opposition batter Ruturaj Gaikwad was awarded the Player of the Tournament title for his exceptional performances throughout the event. The Maharashtra skipper recorded as many as four centuries including 108 in the final.

Except for Gaikwad, no other batter from the Maharashtra side managed to register a big score. The captain’s knock and a couple of important cameos from Azim Kazi and Naushad Shaikh helped them produce a decent total of 248 runs in 50 overs. For Saurashtra, pacer Chirag Jani picked up three wickets.

In reply, Jackson, a seasoned player on the domestic circuit, made his experience count in the summit game. He stayed at the crease till the last over and led his team to the victory line with 21 balls left to spare. However, he was seen struggling a bit during the entire campaign.

Jackson’s opening partner Harvik Desai also registered a commendable half-century in 67 balls. And Chirag Jani contributed to the victory both with ball and ball, collecting three wickets for 43 runs to restrict Maharashtra before scoring an unbeaten 30 off 25 balls to guide his team home in Jackson’s company.

A fan lauded Jackson’s effort and wrote on Twitter, “What an innings from Sheldon Jackson played under pressure in the final of Vijay Hazare Trophy. He was unbeaten at 133* runs from 136 balls including 12 fours and 5 Sixes in the successful run chase.”

Another user noted, “What an innings from Sheldon Jackson played under pressure in the final of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.”

A person shared a photograph of the massive celebration by the Saurashtra cricketers after the remarkable victory.

Here are some other note-worthy reactions:

With his third consecutive hundred in the final, Gaikwad became the player with the most number of centuries (12) in the history of the Vijay Hazare Trophy followed by veteran batter Robin Uthappa.

Read all the Latest News, Trending News, Cricket News, Bollywood News, India News and Entertainment News here. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAI is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.