T20 World Cup: Left-arm pacer Tymal Mills returns as England announce strong 15-member squad

England announced their 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in the UAE and Oman led by Eoin Morgan. The squad marks the return of left-arm Sussex and Southern Brave pacer Tymal Mills to the England team after a gap of four years.

Tymal Mills was one of the stars for the Southern Brave in their title-winning campaign in the inaugural The Hundred men’s competition with eight wickets in the tournament, continuing his exceptional form from the T20 Blast for Sussex.

Talking about Mills’ recall, England men’s team coach Chris Silverwood said, “Tymal Mills deserves his inclusion and has demonstrated over the past couple of years, but particularly this summer that he has all skills to succeed at this level. His exceptional pace is a standout, and the way he has spearheaded Sussex and Southern Brave’s respective attacks in the short-form game has shown that he relishes the pressures of the big stage.

“He will add variety to our bowling unit, and we can’t wait to see him play in a major international tournament,” he further added.

Mills will be part of a strong pace attack having the likes of Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Mark Wood, David Willey and Sam Curran along with him. While the pitches in the UAE and Oman are expected to turn, England have gone in with two spinners in Adil Rashid and Moeen Ali, along with part-timer Liam Livingstone as Lancashire leg-spinner Matt Parkinson, has missed out.

Star all-rounder Ben Stokes continues to remain unavailable for the showpiece event having taken an indefinite break from all cricket to prioritise his mental well-being. Other notable misses from their last T20 World Cup campaign were Test skipper Joe Root and opening batsman Alex Hales.

England squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 in UAE and Oman: Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Jos Buttler, Dawid Malan, Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, David Willey, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, Mark Wood, Tymal Mills.

Reserves: James Vince, Liam Dawson, Tom Curran

For all the latest Sports News Click Here 

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAI is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.