Canada To Ban Travel From 3 Countries Over ‘Omicron’ Covid Variant Scare

Omicron Covid Variant: Canada said it now has five cases of the new strain of Covid. (Representational)

Canada will ban travelers who have been to Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt over concerns about the spread of the Omicron coronavirus variant, the Toronto Star newspaper said on Tuesday, citing sources.

Canada has identified five people with the new variant, at least two of whom were recently in Nigeria. The western province of Alberta has detected at least one case of Omicron, a spokesman for premier Jason Kenney told the Canadian Broadcasting Corp.

Last week Ottawa barred travelers who had recently been to South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Mozambique.

Canadian health officials are due to brief the media on Omicron at 4 p.m. Eastern Time (2100 GMT).

The premiers of Ontario and Quebec, Canada’s two most populous provinces, are calling on Ottawa to impose tougher measures and more testing for the virus.

A spokeswoman for Transport Minister Omar Alghabra declined to comment on the Toronto Star report. A spokesman for Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos did not respond to a request for comment.

(This story has not been edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

For all the latest world News Click Here 

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! TechAI is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.